Haikus

The lion roars so

Lesser beasts might know that he

Is so insecure

 

Take another pill

Escape your boring life to

False utopia

 

Start talking to me

Let me know what you’re feeling

Then I won’t listen

 

When one goes so does

The other to a brighter

Place with swimming pools

 

I don’t like my things

I used to like them, but now

I want some new things

 

Everything you want

You buy so that you’ll become

Everything you’re not

 

Someday we won’t think

That the economy can

Tell us what to think

 

Save the world today

Save trees, save fish, save air, then

Someone else wrecks it

 

My mother told me

It really wasn’t that bad

But of course, it was

 

Twinkling in my ears,

Saturating my psyche

Releasing my day

 

Not once have you called

While all day I spend here

Staring at the phone

 

Too far back a thought

Remains in my dusty soul

Awaiting a spark

 

My eyes sparkled bright

But my heart knew much better

As it turned to ice

 

It’s not all so bad

You are not really dying

It just feels that way

Leave a Reply

